how Dora the Explorer got the name

2020-03-24

It was a rainy Thursday afternoon in my office and I was doing some doodles. Coming back and forth in my mind as to what should I call the boat I have just received by a lovely coincidence. The name Tofla sounded like Tofu and french female pronoun la combination, that actually from Swedish means "slipper" and I knew that this majestic boat needs a deeper meaning. I began to wonder about my own name Dārta, how and why I have it, remembered that in Primary school we had to do research of meaning and roots of our names. As in Latvia we have celebration for names or Name days, I share my Name day wit Dace and Dora (Greek: Δώρα) is a female name of Greek origin being a shortened form or derived from Dorothea (Dorothy), Theodora meaning "Gift" or in its full form "God's Gift", from δῶρον, doron, "gift" + θεός, theos, "god".

So, you might know the series Dora the Explorer that centers around Dora, a seven-year-old Latina girl, with a love of embarking on quests related to an activity that she wants to partake of or a place that she wants to go to. Each episode is based around a series of cyclical events that occur along the way during Dora's travels, along with obstacles that she is forced to overcome or puzzles that they have to solve (with "assistance" from the viewing audience) relating to riddles, the Spanish language, or counting. 

What a better name for a place to call home for a wanderlust girl, that is set to a journey of a lifetime? We share a Name day, we have our perks and character and we are still exploring each other and the world. 

I know that this will be an epic journey together! 


© 2018 sailing latvian
Izveidots ar Webnode
Izveido savu bezmaksas mājas lapu! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Uzsākt darbu